Summertime Reading

The summer break bridging my high school career to my college life is quite lengthy so I made a point to catch up on some reading that I’ve been neglecting.

I’ve been pretty successful so far and have started a Books-I-Read list on Good Reads and in my planner. I think it motivates me to keep going which therefore reminds me of the enjoyable feeling of being lost in a book. I want to share the books I’ve read this summer and a couple of my impressions of the book. Don’t worry I won’t contain any spoilers. 🙂

JULY

  • Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova (summary)
    3 of 5 stars
    A book about Huntington’s Disease and the physical and psychological strain it puts on a family. I largely enjoyed learning about Huntington’s Disease as it was the primary reason I read the book for. However, the ideas of each chapter was very repetitive and after a while, I found it a bit tough to finish the book. The ending was even more disappointing…though I do understand her purpose for leaving it that way. I just felt the author could have done a better job creating a better ending that still conveyed the message but was merciful to her readers that found themselves at the end of the book.
  • Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman (summary)
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Trigger Warning is a mottled collection of short stories that contain something for everyone. There are some stories did not resonate with me. However, there were a couple that made me laugh because they were so strange and a few that I genuinely enjoyed. I liked Gaiman’s style of writing sometimes, yet other times I found it to be boring and not worth my while. Other critics have recommended his other collections (Neverwhere and Stardust) as a better starting point for new Gaiman readers.

August

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (summary)
    4 of 5 stars
    After a pretty uneventful start in my summer reading adventure, I decided to pick a book that was and is extremely popular with the masses. I was not at all disappointed. This is my first time picking up a psychological thriller and I am glad I did. Flynn’s crafty and ingenious way of organizing the novel builds up the suspense and drops a major plot twist on you. I highly recommend this novel if you are looking for a well-designed story.
  • A Work in Progress by Connor Franta (summary)
    3.5 of 5 stars
    After the heavy thriller, I wanted something more on the lighter side. As a dedicated YouTube watcher…I was beyond excited to pick up Connor Franta’s memoir. I’ve always like his personality and editing skills. Creating a book at such a young age is definitely an accomplishment. Even though his video persona is attractive to me, I felt that his memoir wasn’t special or personal enough. It was a pretty standard and common story of growing up and he combines it with lessons that he have acquired from his life so far. The book is very aesthetically pleasing but the content didn’t satisfy me as much as I wanted it to. I feel that if he had written a memoir later on in life, there would be much more interesting/meaningful content to write about.
  • Binge by Tyler Oakley (summary)
    4 of 5 stars
    Again with the YouTuber memoirs! Tyler Oakley is very different from Connor Franta, but I enjoy his online content just as much. Oakley has definitely faced some challenges and interesting moments in his lifetime so far and his persistent sassy voice rings out his stories in its rawest form. It was definitely a personal scope of his life and shows how quickly ones life can change with the right attitude. I think it’s definitely worth the read. 🙂
  • The Selection Triology by Kiera Cass (summary)
    4 of 5 stars
    These three books are my guilty pleasure. They are easy books to read and provide just as much drama and romance as any super sappy TV show. I can see how people might see this book as ridiculous and cringy but for me, these are books that I can’t put down until I reach the very last page.

September

  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley  (summary)
    5 of 5 stars
    My all time favorite type of books are Dystopian/Utopian type novels. Brave New World transported me away to a strange futuristic alter-Earth where everything taboo now has become the norm and vice versa. An engaging story with a interesting and unique story line, this book is something I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Definitely my favorite book this summer. 🙂

That just about wraps up my summer reading! 🙂 What are some great novels you would recommend? I need to add to my ever-growing list of to-reads for the autumn!

Leave a Reply

