Nighttime Skin Care Routine

 

20151218_122324
CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser
20151218_122307
Clean & Clear Morning Burst Fruit Infusions Smoothing Facial Scrub


20151221_143656
My Beauty Diary Face Mask

 

20151218_122356
Avon Solutions Maximum Moisture Super Hydrating Gel

 

20151218_122419
Nexcare Acne Care Dressing Pimple Stickers

 

20151218_122529
Nexcare Acne Stickers come in 2 sizes!

 

20151221_175640
CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

 

20151221_175741
Lip Moisturizers (Chapstick and Kiehl’s)

 

20151218_122332
Hask Argan Oil Repairing Shine Oil

 

20151221_175951
Bath & Body Works Body Cream

 

My nighttime skin care routine is one of the few well-being routines that I actually consistently conduct. Maybe it’s because I can’t stand dry skin! However, it all works out because taking care of your skin will be beneficial in the long run and I already see short-term benefits. 🙂
Please share your own nighttime (or day time) skin routines! I would love to check out new products and incorporate new practices in my routine~

After showering, I start my skin care routine which takes 5-45 minutes depending on what products I use.

My Routine:
Cleanser (CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser)
Use everyday.
Cleansers rid of makeup and excess dirt, cleaning skin and pores, and reducing acne. I have sensitive and acne-prone skin (thanks to genetics, school-stress, and bad sleep management) and CeraVe is amazing to it! It is non-foaming as many foaming cleansers leave skin dry and uncomfortable. This product is very gentle and will leave your face feeling clean and hydrated.

Exfoliant (Clean & Clear Morning Burst Fruit Infusions Smoothing Facial Scrub)
Use 2 – 3 times per week.
Exfoliants remove dead skin and cleanse pores. My skin easily gets dehydrated leaving patchy skin that is emphasized when I apply my foundation. Sometimes, dry skin appear around acne due to the medication I occasionally apply. I am pretty new to exfoliating, but I have found that this step is critical in achieving a flawless or smooth complexion. Use 2 to 3 times a week to avoid damaging the skin. However, it is important to make sure to avoid active acne as you don’t wont to aggravate it.
*Sometimes, I also exfoliate with a facial wash cloth. Just dampen your skin and wash cloth and gently rub in circular motions. Similarly, avoid active acne.

Toner (Kuan Yuan Lian Toner)
Use everyday.
Toners help minimize pore visibility and hydrate skin. This particular toner is a mist spray, so I can just spritz a couple times on my face, let it dry — I’m good to go. I find mist toners are much more convenient than the liquid ones…which is helpful because then I am actually motivated to use it. This helps A LOT especially because my skin easily becomes dry in steamy showers.
*I bought this product in Taiwan but other toners should work just as well. (Ones with Aloe and Chamomile are especially hydrating!)

Face Mask (My Beauty Diary Face Mask)
Use once every week, ideally.
Face Masks provide a variety of benefits but all accomplish one thing —a happy, fully-moisturized face. I put on face masks for the sole purpose of  hydrating, but there are certain masks that specialize in brightening, nourishing, and cleansing. I purchased this particular product in Taiwan, but I believe that it can be shipped to the United States. It’s a pretty popular brand in Taiwan and does what it claims to do.

Hydrating Gel (Avon Solutions Maximum Moisture Super Hydrating Gel)
Use when skin needs extra hydration in addition to moisturizers. (I use almost daily.)
This product is pretty amazing. After cleansing your face, put the gel on, let it sit for 10 minutes, and rinse it off with warm water. Your skin will be left hydrated and healthy. This gel does not moisturize as much as face masks, so it is a good product to use on a more regular basis for a fresh and happy face.
*I believe this specific product is discontinued, but this is a good rivaled alternative: Dr. Lin Skincare Daily Hydrating Gel

Acne Stickers (Nexcare Acne Care Dressing Pimple Stickers)
Use on active acne.
This product is a miracle. I bought this product in Taiwan, but it is available in the United States also. They come in 2 sizes. Pop these patches on after cleansing and before moisturizing. I wear them to sleep and by next morning, the pimple are shrunken and are on their way to a speedy recovery. This product is highly recommended!

Lotion (CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM)
Use everyday.
Again, CeraVe products are amazing for sensitive skin. This product fully moisturizes my face without overdoing it. In the morning, my face is not oily, but still hydrated. (Most facial lotions leave my face very oily when I wake up in the morning.) This product is made especially for the night-time so make sure to pick up the PM one! It is non-scented and very light on the skin. A wonderful product for wonderful skin. 😉

Lip Moisturizers (Chapstick and Kiehl’s)
Use everyday.
As cold weather approaches, lips tend to get drier to usual. So it is important to make use of lip moisturizers! Right now, I am enjoying Chapstick Peppermint in time with the festivities. On a regular basis, I would use Chapstick Spearmint, as I like my mints a little bit on the sweet side. However, if I would like an extra punch in moisturizing, Kiehl’s Mango does a fabulous job in hydrating lips (and tasting great…oops). Kiehl’s scented lip balms also come in cranberry and mint flavors.

Hair Oil (Hask Argan Oil Repairing Shine Oil)
Use everyday.
Hair Oil strengthens hair, creates shine, reduces split ends, and nourishes and protects the hair. I know this is supposed to be a skin care post, but I figured that since this is part of my nighttime routine, I would just slip it in. I’m pretty new to using hair oil, but I have noticed slight changes. My hair is less frizzy  and more shiny and I have less split ends. As an added bonus, this product smells citrus-y and amazing.

Body Cream (Bath & Body Works Body Creams)
Use everyday.
As a grand finale, I lather my legs and arms with body cream. I find that Bath and Body Works body creams do just the trick. I just finished using Mad About You Body Lotion which is the one I wanted to recommend instead of A Thousand Wishes in the picture. Mad About You is currently my favorite scent. Once lathered over your skin, it smells like lychee! Yummy! I tend to like sweeter scents, so if you don’t like sweet scents…avert your eyes.

After my products are settled…I can get myself cozy in bed and doze off. Hope you guys find my routine interesting. Hopefully some of you are as skin-hydration-crazy as I am!

~ ❤ ~

 

 

Leave a Reply

